top of page

Letters, Sounds And Aspects Of Phase One

The DFES letters and sounds document (click to download) is a free document which has stood the test of time.


Published in 2007 it has withstood 3 governments and continues to be an effective tool when teaching phonics. 

It is NON-STATUTORY guidance, i.e. you do not legally need to follow it.

It introduced the teaching sequence for phonics:

Review - Teach - Practice - Apply

And it is split into 6 distinct phases:

bottom of page